Indian Visa, Types of Visas in India, Visa to India, Visa Info, India
Must See India - Best Travel Guide to India
Home   |   Login   |   Register   |   Contact Us
 ›   ›   ›  Getting Indian Visa

Getting Indian Visa

, About India

Travel Guide Packages Hotels Articles
Topics: About India, Gap Year
Indian Visa is a must for tourists coming from any county, other than Nepal and Bhutan. The scope of Visa of Arrival facility is very limited, as it is valid only for those tourists who are a citizen of more than 10 countries. Before applying for the visa, it is important to know what type of visa one requires. Visitors staying in India for less than 72 hours can take a transit visa.

Types of Visas in India

The tourists’ visas to India are generally issued for 3 or 6 months or even a year, depending upon the nationality of the tourist. These are generally valid for multiple entries. Ten year visas are obtainable only from US and five years are available only from 18 countries (namely France, Germany, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Belgium, Finland, Spain, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Mexico and Vietnam). Please note, that in spite of these long duration visas, tourists can stay up to a maximum of 6 months (in case of American tourists) and 3 months (in case of other tourist).

Cost of Indian Visa

The cost of a visa to India varies in various countries depending upon the government’s policy. Tourists should expect to pay anywhere around $70 in the United States, £30 in the United Kingdom, and $90 in Australia.

How to Apply

In order to make the visa application process easy, the Indian Embassy has started outsourcing the visa application process to private players. For application of Visa to India, tourists can take a Visa application form from the Indian Embassy in the respective country. Alternatively, Indian Visa applications can be downloaded from internet as well. Along with this filled form, tourists need to submit their passport (valid for a least six months and has at least two blank pages), a recent passport sized photo, and details of the itinerary. In some countries, residential proof might also be required; hence it is important to check with the agent.

Citizens of only 10 countries (Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Singapore, Cambodia, Philippines, Vietnam, Laos and Myanmar) are eligible for visa-on-arrival. These visas are issued only at Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai airports and only two visas of this kind is granted to the tourists. Also, it is mandatory that there is two-month gap between the visits, for this visa to be applicable.




debug_temp: topic : topic:1338:Getting Indian Visa:Topic